Inspired by Unity


Last week I spent a lot of time reading about the Civil War.  As my eyes started going cross-eyed I decided to put the books down and watch, Gone With the Wind.  That didn’t last too long, as the main character Scarlet O’Hara was getting on my nerves and I was feeling so depressed at the reality of this War between the States.  Back to the books I went~and it really worked better for me.  The books didn’t offer true release from the sadness of this war, but it got me thinking.

As I was reading about Abraham Lincoln as well as Ulysses S. Grant I was struck by their determination for “unity”.  It was said that both men did not acknowledge the “Confederate States of America”, but would call them, “the so-called Confederate States, or even the “States in rebellion”.  In a speech Lincoln made for the Senate race, he said, “a house divided against itself will not stand”.  His goal, his hope, was to keep the United States of America just that~ “UNITED”.  I think that is such a beautiful word.

As we go about our day today may we think of unity.  May we think of family and friends that we may need to be more united with~even if it seems impossible or even if  we are already “at war” with them.  There are marriages that need some unity.  We all have “battles” but may we remember there is hope.  Unity is possible.  May we “fight” for it and yet at the same time remember God Himself will fight for us~and may we remind each other of this.

~Psalm 133:1 How good and pleasant it is when brothers live together in unity.

~Colossians 3:14 Above all, put on love, the perfect bond of unity. 

Leave a Reply

